running tips for non runners

I would definitely not consider myself a “hardcore runner” however over the past year I’ve really started to get into it and there’s ALOT that I’ve learned.

  1. Running is hard work but if you keep working at it you WILL get better
  2. Get the right shoes: I run in Asics because they support my arch the best but some people prefer different shoes depending on your preferred feel
  3. You must STRETCH: I like to do a small stretch before and a very hard stretch once I’m done running.
  4. ROLL IT OUT: get a foam roller, it will be your worst enemy and your best friend. As John Mellencamp once said its going to “hurt so good”.
  5. HYDRATE: when I’m working on my endurance I like to carry around a gallon of water. This helps me drink a ton of water throughout the day because I am contantly reminded when I look at my jug. This will help your running, and you will feel so much better doing so!
  6. Don’t worry about your pace: I personally have a slow steady pace which works for me. But if you have to walk a little here and there its OK! Just keep going!
  7. Last but most importantly not least, DONT GIVE UP! You’re going to feel like quitting when you’re so sore you can’t walk up the stairs, but don’t. When I started I could barely run a mile without getting winded; now 3 miles is a piece of cake.
  8. Now get out there and RUN!

“You must expect great things from yourself before you can do them.” -Michael Jordan

Girl-Running-Beautiful-Wallpaper.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

